About Us

Mission Statement

Gifted by the Spirit, Kootenay Presbytery
is called to nurture vital and faithful ministries
and congregations which embody God’s love and justice
in Jesus Christ, in all creation.


What is Kootenay Presbytery?

This Presbytery is the coming together of all the pastoral charges of The United Church of Canada located in the south-eastern part of BC wherein the administrative business of our community can be conducted according to policy and procedures laid out by our Presbytery, BC Conference and the United Church of Canada. Within our Presbytery Gathering, the work is preformed under the leadership of various “Ministry Teams”.


Our Presbytery Charges and Congregations

These are the Pastoral Charges and Congregations that make up Kootenay Presbytery, and the names of the Presbytery representatives (ministry personnel and lay representatives).  Descriptions of the Executive (PVT) and other Ministry Teams can be found on the Our Work page.


 Arrow Lake Pastoral Charge 

Robertson Memorial UC, Nakusp

  • Hilary Bitten, DLM (ministry personnel)
  • vacant, (Lay Rep) 


 Beaver Valley Pastoral Charge 

     re-formed as  Beaver Valley United Church June, 2016

  • Vacant (ministry personnel)
  • Rep: Charlene Bisson (lay rep.)


 Boundary Pastoral Charge 

St. John’s UC, Grand Forks
Perley Memorial UC, Christina Lake
St. Columba UC, Greenwood

  • Rev. Kim Horwood (ministry personnel)
  • Elaine Pattison (lay rep., St. John’s United)
  • Barbara Puskeppelies (lay rep.)


Burton Pastoral Charge 

     disbanded 29 May, 2016.


Castlegar Kinnaird Pastoral Charge 

Castlegar UC, Castlegar

  • Rev. Greg Powell (ministry personnel)
  • Ray Lundquist (lay rep., Castlegar United)


Communities In Faith (CIF) Pastoral Charge 

Trail UC, Trail
St Andrew’s UC, Rossland

Salmo United Church disbanded June 30, 2016

  • Vacant (Ministry Personnel)
  • Merle Ruckstuhl (lay rep., Trail UC)
  • Joan Hanson (lay rep., St Andrew’s UC)


Cranbrook Pastoral Charge 

Cranbrook UC, Cranbrook

  • Rev. Ibi Chuan (ministry personnel)
  • Pat Ridler (lay rep., Cranbrook UC)
  • Carol Patton (lay rep.)


Creston Pastoral Charge 

Trinity UC, Creston

  • Rev. Paula Ashby  (ministry personnel)
  • Anjanee Gyan-Dyck (lay rep., Trinity UC)



Retired Order of Ministry

  • Rev. Jack Lindquist
  • Rev. Gerry Foster
  • Rev. Louise Skibsted
  • Rev. Don Holmes
  • Rev. Christine Dudley
  • Rev. Frank Lewis
  • Rev. Shelly Stickel-Miles


Retained on Role

  • Therese DesCamps


Special Ministries/Appointments

  • Carolyn Rogers (Conference Minister)
  • Robin Murray (Camp Koolaree)
  • Dick Moffatt (Rock Lake Camp)
  • vacant (United Church Women)


Kootenay Presbytery Website

  • Jody Dudley (Webminister)


Fernie Pastoral Charge 

Knox UC, Fernie

  • Tif McNaughton  (ministry personnel)
  • Sandra Barrett (lay rep., Knox UC)


Grasmere Pastoral Charge

Grasmere UC, Grasmere

  • vacant (ministry personnel)
  • Bonnie Crosson ((lay rep., Grasmere UC)


Jaffray Pastoral Charge

Jaffray UC

  • vacant (ministry personnel)
  • vacant (lay rep., Jaffray UC)
  • Sec/Treasurer: Dorothy Durham


Kaslo Pastoral Charge

St. Andrews UC, Kaslo

  • Contact only: Mary Stickel


Kimberley Pastoral Charge 

Kimberley UC, Kimberley

  • Rev. Sun-Young Kim (ministry personnel)
  • Myra Farquhar (lay rep. Kimberley UC)
  • Ruth Carlson (lay rep., Kimberley UC)


Nelson Pastoral Charge

Nelson UC, Nelson

  • Rev. David Boyd (ministry personnel)
  • Nancy Jones (lay rep., Nelson UC)
  • Leah Gray (lay rep., Nelson UC)


Turner/Zion Pastoral Charge

Turner/Zion UC, Silverton
Wide Spot, a project

  • Theresa Gerow (lay rep., Turner/Zion United, Silverton)


Windermere Valley Shared Ministry Pastoral Charge 

Christ Church Trinity, Invermere
St. Peter’s, Windermere
All Saints, Edgewater

  • Rev. Laura Hermakin (ministry personnel)
  • Anne Jardine (lay rep.)
  • Walter Benstead (alternate lay rep.)